The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Statutory Framework for Children aged 0-5 years

Children start to learn about the world around them from the moment they are born. We provide care and education that helps children to continue to do this by providing them with interesting activities that are appropriate for their age and stage of development.

Riccall Pre-School provides a curriculum set out in the document Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage (Department for Education, March 2012).

Our work is guided by the four following principles outlined in the EYFS:

  • Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured;
  • Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships;
  • Children learn and develop well in enabling environments in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers; and
  • Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

The framework divides children’s learning and development into seven areas. For each area, the framework sets out what it is expected that most children will know and be able to do at different stages between 0-5 years (the end of the Foundation Year at school).

Learning Through Play

We plan and provide a range of play activities and resources which help children to make progress in each of the areas of learning development.

The Seven Areas of Learning and Development

The Three Prime Areas:

  1. Communication and Language development involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations.
  2. Physical development involves providing opportunities for children to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control and movement. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food.
  3. Personal, social and emotional development involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and to have confidence in their own abilities.

Four Specific Areas of Learning

  • Literacy development involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write. Children must be given access to a wide range of reading materials (books, poems and other written materials) to ignite their interest.
  • Mathematics involves providing children with opporutnieies to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shapes, spaces and measures.
  • Understanding the World involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.
  • Expressive Arts and Design involves enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance role-play and design and technology.

Working together for your children

At Riccall Pre-School we maintain the ratio of adults to children in the setting that is set through the Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage. We also have volunteer parent helpers where possible to complement these ratios. This helps us to:

  • Give time and attention to each child;
  • Talk with the children about their interests and activities;
  • Help children to experience and benefit from the activities we provide; and
  • Allow the children to explore and be adventurous in safety.